Completely brown henna paste

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
Shivali
Completely brown henna paste

Hi! 

This is my first post here... and I'm new to henna. 

I've mixed about 4-5 batches of paste and none had any green after leaving for 12-36 hours as described in the instructions.  The brown that was to be on top, was throughout the paste.  Does that mean it didn't need to be left that long?  I had it in the oven with the light on.  Is it possible that's too warm?  Or maybe the lid doesn't provide a strong enough seal...??  The last batch included some witch's brew - does that turn it brown?  Or would it still be green underneath?  The designs didn't turn a deep colour, so my guess is that the brown throughout means it oxidized, losing much of the dye in the process. 

Thanks a million for taking time to help me out!  We absolutely love this artwork!

Jen
Re: Completely brown henna paste

The less acidic a mix the more likely you'll get a paste that's brown throughout. In that case its best to check for dye release earlier, and by a different method. I like to put a dot of paste on the heel of my hand for about 5 minutes. If it leaves an orange stain its ready to use. If there's none or pale yellow, let it sit longer.

Shivali

Ah... That's very helpful.  When I tested it, I didn't leave it on the skin that long.  I also read different instructions that suggest 2-4 hours in some cases is long enough!  So much to learn!  This is such fun!  ...and so interesting!  This is with the Raj Twilight, by the way.  The colour turned out okay for me since my skin tone is so light, but it's not as dark as I'd like.

Next, I'll try some Khamsa Yemeni and see what happens.

Thanks, Jen!

Shivali