Negotiating fees with pushy people

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
BlueMoon
Negotiating fees with pushy people

I need advice on how to deal with people trying to take advantage  when booking shows. I've been a henna artist for 13 years and am good at booking/negotiating shows and festivals but when it comes to private parties and private appointments I have a hard time asking for what I'm worth and not reducing my prices just to get work. 

I recently was asked to do henna for an art event where the promoter would pay me to do free henna on patrons for 4 hours. Bottom line was I agreed to do it for half my normal hourly rate because I have worked with this person on other shows and events. The day before the show I went to pickup my vendor pass and the check and she asked if I would come back that night to do henna for her and another person since they would not be able to get away to get their henna at the show. She said she wanted to be able to show off her henna to advertise and promote my work. 

Now without thinking I said yes I'd do it. No mention was made of being paid for this extra work and the tone of the conversation made it come across that she considered this extra work part of what I was being paid for. I was very flustered when I agreed to come back that night and left there really agrivated and felt taken advantage of.

So my questions are:

How do other henna artists out there deal with this issue?

On private appointments or events where you will be paid hourly do you demand payment ahead of time?

How would you nicely have declined to come back and do henna for the promoter? 

How would you have explained that there would be an extra charge for coming to do their henna? Keep in mind that she had just given me the check for the payment for the show as she was asking this and there were other people around so I didn't want to look like I was greedy by talking money in front of the other people there in the room.