Henna/indigo over coloured and keratined hair

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
radish
Henna/indigo over coloured and keratined hair
Hi lovely henna experts, I have never used pure henna before (had poor success with the Lush products and moved on to chemical dyes, but I'm really keen to stop with that) and am just looking for some advice. My natural hair is medium to dark brown. About five months ago I had it dyed in a salon. I *think* they put a permanent colour in, then put keratin, and then a semi-permanent colour on top of that. I haven't done anything since then so I have at least an inch of roots growing out. (I can upload a pic if this helps...) I love having red hair but I suspect mine is just too dark to get a true red with henna alone. Right now I am tossing up between: * trying to strip the colour as naturally as possible, using honey to lighten (have seen directions for these online), and then doing henna for red, or * doing henna/indigo over what I've got to go black, at least until the chemical dyes have grown out. I'm currently trying to grow my hair, so I really don't want to damage it. Any advice?
Carrie
Re: Henna/indigo over coloured and keratined hair
I would suggest you do one of two things:

1.  Dye your hair one last time with a color that's near identical to your natural medium to dark brown. Then after that, use henna forevermore.  Since your ends are close in color to the roots, you'll have less of a line of demarcation this way as your hair grows in. Using henna on medium to dark brown hair, you can get a beautiful shade of garnet red in sunshine, though it will look darker indoors.

2. Just start using henna anyway, and you'll have redder ends and darker red (garnet, etc, see above) roots.
radish