light brown henna ratios

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
bornartist
light brown henna ratios

I am a newbie, first let me say that I am very impressed with Ancient Sunrise website as far as the quality of the product being sold and the provided resources, this is why I choose it.   I just did my first sample henna from a hairbrush sample, I have probably 80% grey at temples and been chemically dying my hair for atleast 15 years and it is dry.  I used the Henna for Gray Hair Medium Brnette, Cassia and Indigo to acheive light brown, I used orange juice to mix since the Cassia did not have the Malluma Kristalovino in it.  I did not anticipate that my kitchen scale can only measure to the 0.1 oz. so I couldn't measure out to the sensitivity I needed for small ratios. I mixed the 3 gram packet of Cassia with 3/4 tsp henna and 3/4 tsp. Let sit wrapped at room temp for 12 hr. ( followed the dye release etc)  It came out darker than what I anticipated. I would rather start out really light brown and go from there assuming no problems with rehenna on my whole head. Questions: 

1. how much does 1/4 teaspoon of henna or indigo weigh so I can figure out if I am using a 4:1:1 ratio of cassia/henna/indigo ( I know a chemist must know this question :)

2. If I want to acheive a lighter brown and possibly less red should I increase cassia more? or use different henna? (not for grey) and acidic powder as opposed to orange juice.  Assuming a max of 4 hours dye time when I put on my head.                            Thanks, I'm excited about this product!

rchou
admin
Ratios

Hello,

Here are some helpful gram measurements:

1tsp cassia = 2g, 1tsp henna = 2.3g 1tsp indigo = 1.7g

For a light brown, I would go with 3-4 parts cassia to 1 part henna and 1 part indigo. for less red, use a bit more indigo than henna.

Orange juice works just fine, but citrus will bring out brighter tones. if you wanted a more neutral brown, you could go with amla, MK, or Nightfall Rose.