'Hard' water

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
gecko
'Hard' water

Hello! I'm new to henna and am looking forward to experimenting with it to achieve a rich red colour on my collar-length, medium brown dreadlocks.

My question is, I live in a town that is considered to have 'hard' water. I have seen on this forum reference to the fact that mineral content of water will affect the final henna colour. How can I avoid this? I would prefer not to have to purchase a filtering shower head (in fact I've never heard of them here in Australia, or at least in the small town I live in).

Does the hardness of the water only matter when washing out the henna? If thats the case then I could go over to my neighbours house to rinse because they have all of their water filtered. But if its the possibility of a build up of the minerals in my hair that is the problem then I will have to look into a shower head... which may be a much more expensive endevour than I had hoped for.

Any advice is appreciated :)

Carrie
Re: 'Hard' water

It's the buildup of certain minerals in your hair that matters. But it won't happen to you just because you have "hard water." I have hard water and have done henna for years without any problem at all. Do a strand test; if your henna comes out dark dull ugly brown without any red highlights, you'll know you have a problem and can then deal with it. There are inexpensive remedies you can use, other than getting a shower filter.

On medium brown hair, you should get dark reddish brown to rich dark auburn color with henna.

gecko

Thankyou for the reply. What are the remedies for mineral buildup other than a new shower head? The reasons I ask before doing a strand test is I want to use the 100% henna sold on the site and to make the (massive) shipping cost to Australia worth it I was going to buy the 500g pack, so I would be using that to do my strand test with.