A New Trick for Henna Slick Slidin' Gel - Carrageenan

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bella Noire
A New Trick for Henna Slick Slidin' Gel - Carrageenan
Greetings folks!

I've been a long time lurker (used to occasionally post on the old boards) and this is a method I've used for awhile now but never gotten around to sharing til now. As far as I'm aware it's not been posted before so hopefully you find it a useful suggestion.

Years back I picked up a 8oz bag of carrageenan powder when I took an interest in marbling paper. It is a common food and cosmetic additive, made from extract of Irish moss seaweed and is a white powder that when mixed with water forms a colorless, scentless (to me at least)very slick and smooth gel. Basically it's very reminiscent of personal lubricant - slick without the stringy type viscosity.

It occurred to me that it would make a perfect substitute for pectin in henna gel and I tried out it and it worked beautifully. I've been using this method for 2-3 years now and won't go back to anything else. It goes in very smoothly, no drips, and rinses very clean. I find it helps extend my paste amount, for example 100-150g of powder will cover my roots(heavy coverage) and work down into my waist length ends.