Will dye release be even in a big bag?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
onigiri
Will dye release be even in a big bag?

I am a newbie and still looking for the best henna mixing method.  I have only hennaed my hair once 3 weeks ago hoping to cover my white hairs.  I wouldn't really say the result was successful but I know it takes time to build up the color.  So here is the question....

Since we are heating up the henna paste to ensure dye release happens, doesn't that mean IF the henna paste didn't warm up evenly, dye release may occur at different time in the paste?  Because I have used 300g of henna powder, after adding the acidic liquid (I have tried lemon juice + water last time and last night I added canned apple juice only) I ended up with almost 1L of paste.  You can imagine for this amount, not the whole bag will warm up at the same time when I had to place the bag near a heating vent in a pretty cold room. 

I don't know if I'm just too worried.  But after my first henna, my grey hair were only stained orange.  I want to have either red or brown color so I'm wondering if my orange color is partially due to inproper dye release.  Btw I used the white paper trick to check for dye release. 

Any advice or thoughts? 

Carrie
Re: Will dye release be even in a big bag?

I have never had any luck with the white paper towel thing, I just go by a skin test on my palm. Bright orange after 1 minute is what you hope to see.

You are right that if heat is applied unevenly the dye release will not occur uniformly throughout the paste. Stir up the paste frequently if you are doing this so the heat is distributed. If it's in a bag, smoosh the bag around to mix the paste. Heat at 85' to 90'F will make dye release happen very quickly, possibly within 1-2 hours.