Beginner- Overexcited!

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
crazychilipepper13
Beginner- Overexcited!

Ok so! I have never done henna on my hair before, but I have done a bunch of research and am ready to take the plunge. I got my henna in the mail today and I was so excited that I opened both packets and poured them into my bowl to get started, but I had forgotten that I waned to wait until tomorrow so that by the time it was ready to put on it would be right before the weekend.

Is it okay to let the powder just sit out for a day or what? Should I put it in a baggie or just commit all the way and do this and not worry about what I look like at work as it settles in?

Help!

ACWN
Re: Beginner- Overexcited!

You have a couple options.You can put it in a ziplock, suck the air out and wait till tomorrow OR you can mix it and put it straight in the fridge. Cold slows dye release and dye demise. It will be fine till you get off work tomorrow (and depending on what you mix it with, may or may not be dye released).

crazychilipepper13

Thanks!!!

xyz

crazychilipepper,

Just to make sure, when you say "both packets" you mean you had 2 packs of henna, right?  You can prepare the henna in advance (as ACWN suggested, put it in the fridge...or in the freezer if it's going to be more than a day) but if the "other" bag was indigo (or buxus) hold off on that one.  Indigo and buxus need to be mixed immediately before application for best results.

Good luck!

ACWN

Oooh, xyz makes a good point! I'd assumed both were just henna.