cassia+henna on brown+white hair

22 posts / 0 new
Last post
hairfix
cassia+henna on brown+white hair

I'm completely new to this and have been reading until my head is spinning!  I would really appreciate some advice before I take the plunge.

Current Hair:  medium/dark brown with growing number of white hairs (never coloured)

Objective:  keep the same brown while blending the grey ---a SUBTLE change only!!!

Proposed Method:  8 parts cassia, 1 part henna, camomile tea + some apple cidar vinegar for acid

The cassia/henna ratio is based on Evie's mix, though she is "dirty dishwater blonde" not white.  Catherine's combo of 4 parts cassia to 1 part henna is too bright strawberry blonde for me, so this seems to make sense.

Soooo, here are my questions:

1.  For those of you who have played around with cassia/henna, does this sound reasonable?  Do you think that the white would blend without being too banana yellow or orange orange?

2.  What about longer term?  If the cassia washes out after about a month, would that leave the orange of the henna glowing brightly?  If I repeated the same after a month, would the henna just keep intensifying?  The orange look is not for me!!

3.  What am I not aware of as a first-timer?  Pitfalls/downsides/longterm....?

Thanks so much in advance--I really need advice!!!!

Jen
Re: cassia+henna on brown+white hair

I think you could use some buxus in your mix, or as part of a gloss afterword to give you the 'dirty' part of dirty dishwater blond. What you've got could be too yellow to blend well, depending on how your hair takes up the dye.

I'm going to let someone else give you more detailed help. Light colors are not my stong point.

Carrie