Best Mix for Rajasthani Monsoon???

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
Lynora
Best Mix for Rajasthani Monsoon???

Hello, I'm a newbie and I'm trying Henna for the first time. I ordered RM, but I wanted to know what the best mix would be for dye release. I don't want to use lemon juice because I don't think my scalp will be able to handle it. I've seen that using tea will give a darker/maroon type red which I think I would like. I am AA with naturally dark-brown hair. Any help would be appreciated. 

ACWN
Re: Best Mix for Rajasthani Monsoon???

There is no "best" as a general rule.. its what works best for YOU. For some people, thats lemon juice. For some, its apple and for others its tea.

The only thing the type of liquid you use effects (besides how long it takes for it to release/demise) is whether or not the end result post-oxidation is more of a rusty color or more of a true red. It will not make your hair darker or lighter, that has to do with your starting color, the dye content and how long you leave it on.

Unfortunately, plant dyes cannot lighten, only add to what you have... so depending on how dark your hair naturally is, you may not see much or any visible color change in most normal indoor lighting and possibly only a red sparkle in the sun.

To get the most out of your henna, mix it with either apple jucie (dye release time of 6 - 8 hours) or tea (1 - 6 hours, depending on which you use and how strong you make it. NEVER use hot tea, room temp or chilled only)... then once you have dye release - never assume, always test for it on you palm.. you want a vivid orange stain - transfer the henna into a ziplock bag, mush it flat and freeze it. Freezing helps the henna release more dye, but it only works when henna is already dye releasing.

Thaw it at room temp.

Apply and leave on for 5 - 6 hours, minimum.

Lynora

Does it matter what type of apple juice is used? Also, can I just leave the mixture overnight, or should I freeze it within 6-8 hours? 

ACWN