Indigo Without Henna:

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Nargilyos
Indigo Without Henna:

Hello

I am newbie here, I have naturally redhead which I don’t like and I would be glad if you could give me some tips and guide me to the color that I want to achieve

As I said, im naturally redhead, usually when I dye my hair, I try to get my natural red hair become ashier. My pigment is too red\orange and I don't like it. I'm usually coloring with 7-1 or 8-1 to get much more "ashy" color. I still have some red pigment, but its fit me more.

Now, because I start to develop allergy to chemical dyes, I would like to try natural dyes.

I know I need to start a process of “trial and error” to find what’s the best for me,

I read a lot of info, but I have some specific question please:

I’m willing to try Indigo (to get to more darker hair shade) but I need to mix it with some material. I understand that most of the people usually mix it with henna, but henna will give me the opposite results I want to achieve- red pigment, which I want to cancel or at least- minimize.  Therefore, I thought maybe I will try mixing Indigo with Cassia or Amla. Is it possible to mix Indigo with these materials? I mean, Can Indigo bond with cassia\Amla like it does with Henna?

Can you please explain how can I mix Indigo with Cassia\Amla, if it’s possible of course?

In additon,
Is there perhaps another plant that I can mix with it the Indigo for my goal? (dye made of walnut hulls\plant buxus-can be suitable?)

Thanks a lot!

Carrie
Re: Indigo Without Henna:
Without henna in the hair, I don't expect indigo will bond very well. You could try it on a hair sample collected from your brush. Since you only need a small effect from the indigo, perhaps it will adhere well enough for your purposes.