Henna newbie needs some advice!

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
castiel
Henna newbie needs some advice!
Hello, I'm completely new to all this henna stuff as I've been using chemical dyes on my hair for the past couple years. It's currently a light pink (used to be flamingo pink but has faded into a blonde salmony color) with fairly dark brown roots (eek!). It's pretty damaged, and rather fine/thinnish so the strengthening characteristics of henna definitely appeal to me. I've done some research and there seems to be so many different kinds of henna and so many recipes and additives that people include (lemons, tea, etc.) that just thinkin bout it makes my head spin @_@ Here are some examples of the color I'm hoping to achieve: http://cdn2.stylecraze.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/henna.jpg http://31.media.tumblr.com/fe3d15fff6f1abe8385264c2ede86d06/tumblr_muqvz... I really want to avoid a yellowy bright orange color, that's the main thing! I realize that most of those photos, the people probably started out with brown hair and thus the red has those nice darker brown undertones, so I'd even be fine with just something like this: http://24.media.tumblr.com/e95a0f25a925289200f3296cf73b588d/tumblr_mss4b... Hopefully it's achievable on nearly blonde hair! I have to buy the henna in person, not online, so my question is; what should I look out for on the package? What to avoid? Is there a certain type it should be/ country it should be from? Also, should I be mixing it with anything or just water? Thanks in advance!
ACWN
Re: Henna newbie needs some advice!

I would *normally* recommend you dye your hair back to its natural color (as henna over the pale pink color you have will give you a coppery color that may be funky from the pink), but depending on how dark your natural color is... you may not get a visible color change with henna, sadly.