Is Cranberry Juice Drying to Hair?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
pixiebelle
Is Cranberry Juice Drying to Hair?

I'm brand new to dying my hair with henna, and I purchased BAQ henna that I'm planning using soon. I just had a few questions as I'm very confused by all the differing opinions.

I'm considering using cranberry juice as my acidic ingredient because I have it around already and I hear it can deepen the red color, which is what I'm looking for. But my fear is, will it dry the hair out? I have extremely dry hair, like it feels like straw if I'm not careful. I don't want to use lemon juice because I know that will dry it out more, and considered using just straight water but I don't have distilled water available, and curious about what effects cranberry juice would have on hair. When I did my test strand, I used an orange blossom herbal tea with tap water, but not sure that was the best mixture to use (though it smelled delightful).  I've recently read that tap water is bad, so looking at alternatives. I can pick up distilled water tomorrow if needed. 

Would distilled water plus the orange blossom herbal tea be the less drying option though?

Also, I have real oranges that I could use the juice from (organic from a friend's tree). I'd hate to use all my oranges up on my hair, but wondering if that might be a good alternative and less drying than lemon juice or cranberry juice?

m_moore
admin
Good evening =]

Good evening =]

Apple juice is a great way to go, if you are concerned about dryness, although cranberry juice should not dry out the hair.

Using straight water will not allow the henna to stick and have a brassy tone.

I would not recommend tea.  It can cause headaches if left on the head for long periods of time.

Orange juice works nicely, but can be a pain to squeeze enough to get the amount you need.

conchenn
I henna'd my hair just a few