Henna, Indigo, Amla - allergy patch test result - advice appreciated!

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Kitty6363
Henna, Indigo, Amla - allergy patch test result - advice appreciated!
Hi everyone,

I'm new both to dying my hair with henna/indigo and this forum, although I've been lurking here for some time and am loving all the tips and advice!

So my story seems quite typical - I've been dying my hair black for many years and was becoming increasingly allergic to permanent chemical dyes. The last time I dyed my hair (3-4 months ago) it was so bad I swore I would never go anywhere near the stuff again - I felt awful, my eyelids were swollen and my head was covered with blistered, weeping eczema that was agony for over a month before it started to clear up (I get contact eczema from nickel too, along with occasional flare ups for apparently no reason).

Since I'm in my early thirties, going pretty grey and LOVE my black hair, I wanted to find a natural alternative. So I researched online, found Mehandi.com, and ordered some henna, indigo and amla. I plan on doing a two step process and using amla in the henna to get as cool a blue-black tone as possible out of the indigo (customer service were super helpful and advised me to do this).

Last night I was extremely nervous to do a patch test, especially since I had read some reports of people being allergic to indigo. I mixed a bit of henna, amla and indigo separately with water and blobbed the pastes on the skin of my forearm for two hours, then washed them off. The henna tingled a bit and the amla itched slightly, but nothing drastic. When I washed off the tests my skin was pink in the shape of the spot where the amla had been, no redness under the henna or indigo, just some pretty stains :-). This morning I got up - no red mark where the amla had been, no raised eczema-like bumps, all smooth and good. I could not believe it.