What to add to the mix

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
marie
What to add to the mix

Hi,

I have no prior experience with henna. I'm sure people have asked this before, but there seems to be so many different things that people use in their mixes, and I was wondering if someone could just tell me straight out how the different components affect the result? I'm looking for things to use with just henna, not cassia or indigo or anything else. What things might make the color darker, lighter, redder, or deeper? How do all the different liquids people use affect the end result, and what about spices like paprika and turmeric? And cloves? I've read that acidic liquids will darken over time, while neutral mixes won't be as dark. What's the difference between using wine, vinegar, lemon juice, tea or other liquids in the end result? And if there is more dye in your hair (using a high dye content henna, leaving it in longer, hennaing multiple times) does that make your hair darker, more red, or just more intense of a color? Sorry for all the questions! :-) I have dark brown hair, if that changes anything. Thank you!

ACWN
Re: What to add to the mix

First I really recommend you poke around the site a bit and check out the free e-book. That will really help. Lots of info

Hair color has a big result in what color you get in the end. The lighter your hair, the brighter it will be. The darker your hair, the darker the result will be.

Think of henna as a tinted wood stain. When you apply a colored stain to a light piece of wood like pine, you get a light, bright result. But if you apply the same stain to say a walnut, the result comes out deeper and darker. Henna is the same way on the hair.

Spices dont do anything. They stain, dont dye. The color change they give lasts only a few days at best. Same thing with coffee... just gonna give you the jitters.