Newbie help! Time interval between henna and indigo

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
MistyD
Newbie help! Time interval between henna and indigo

Help I'm a newbie! 

I haven't dyed my hair for over 4 years and it's completely natural now. It's medium mousey brown with grey throughout it. I have a thick white/silvery chunk at the front through my fringe and down the side.

I've decided to henna my hair and would like to achieve red hair. However, until I try it, I don't know how orange my grey hair will go. I'm not so worried about the grey hairs throughout, more the chunk at the front. I was thinking of buying some indigo to apply if needed. I am curious how long I can leave between using henna and applying indigo?? I was thinking of leaving my hair a few days to see how it settles and deepens before applying indigo. Is that ok? I've seen that people mix henna and indigo but I don't want to do that since I want to achieve red. Whenever I've read about applying indigo after henna, it seems to imply you do it that same day but it's not clear. 

Also, any tips on getting it as red as pos?

Thanks in advance. 

rchou
admin
Indigo

Hello,

Applying indigo after henna is only done to achieve jet black results, and you should do this no more than 48 hours after rinsing out the henna. If you don't want brunette or black, I would recommend doing an additional application of henna, which will deepen the color without browning it. Henna gets deeper and richer with more applications and longer applications. I'd recommend going with the Rajasthani Monsoon henna for the most rosy/cherry tone, and mixing it with Nightfall Rose powder, which will cool some of the brassy tones.

MistyD
Many Thanks. I'll avoid

Many Thanks. I'll avoid indigo then. So would I just apply the second henna application to that section of hair? How many days would I leave before doing it again? I understand that the colour will change after a few days.